Memorial Bonspiel 2019…

Our annual Memorial closing bonspiel will be held this year on April 5th and 6th. These will be 4 end games with 4 games played for each team. Please sign-up at the club using the sign-up sheet or call Phil or Maurice. A food donation sheet will also go up soon. This is our last bonspiel of the season. Let’s end it on a good note. Good opportunity to include new curlers. Here is the poster for the event:

Myers Trophy games vs the Highlander CC…

Since 1968 there have been recreational curling between the Highlander CC in St. Andrews and the Chedabucto CC in Boylston playing for the coveted Myers Trophy, an award donated by Kaye and Chester Myers. Oveer those years there have been 29 recorded matches with the Highlander CC winning the trophy 14 times and the Chedabucto CC securing 15 victories. Senior curlers from each club gather at the curling rinks on two separate days to compete to score the most points to entitle them to have their rink’s name engraved on the Myers Trophy and to proudly display it within their home rink until the next year’s trophy matches. Having had their first set of matches on Jan. 23rd at the Chedabucto CC, curlers from both rinks gathered at the Highlander CC for their second set of matches on Feb 27th.

This season’s winners of the Myers Trophy, the Chedabucto CC members proudly take possession of the award for another year. Pictured left to right: Paul Long, Fred Sullivan, Jack Leonard, Evelyne Jamieson, Marion Brow, Chris Cosgrove, Lee Leonard, Gerry Jamieson, Maureen Landry, Marg Halloran, Patricia Lynn Currie, Mary K. Connolly, Maurice Landry, and Phil O’Regan. Photo by Paul Tomlik.

Results are in from our ExxonMobil and Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Skins Cash spiel..

Our recent ExxonMobil and Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline Skins Cash spiel was held on Mar. 8-10. We had 8 teams entered in 2 divisions. One was an 8 end division and the other a 6 end division. A big thank you goes out to our major sponsors, ExxonMobil and Maritimes & Northeast Pipeline. Both donated money to our spiel for the curlers to play for plus money for food. Also prizes were donated from MNP.
After eight teams battled it out Friday night and throughout Saturday, the four top teams went into the playoffs on Sunday to determine who would be awarded the honour of being either the Division ExxonMobil (8 end games) or Division MNP (6 end games) champions. The winners of the ExxonMobil division were Team Long. Runners up were Team Sangster. The winners of the MNP division were Team E. Jamieson. Runners up were Team Connolly. Also playing for money were the 3rd and 4th place teams in each division. In the ExxonMobil division the 3rd place winner was Team Brymer over Team Luddington. In the MNP division it was Team Armstrong over Team G. Jamieson. One of the tiebreakers for this spiel was a team draw to the button where all four of the team had a chance to get closest to the pin. The team with the best record was Team G. Jamieson and the individual who was closest at 3.5″ was Junior curler Aidan Halloran.

Also that weekend we held our 2nd 50/50 draw. Assisting Ray Bates, President, Chedabucto Curling Club (CCC), by selecting the CCC’s  50/50 winner is Carly Sangster, a member of the  CCC Little Rockers, a division of the CCC Junior Curling Program. The March 9 draw, worth $213.00, was won by Steve Myette, Afton, NS. Thanks go out to all who donated food and helped out in the bar, kitchen and on ice. Here are some pics from the weekend. Photos by Maurice Landry.